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• Irrevocable contracts may not be can-
celled, but the contract must explain 
how it can be transferred to a different 
funeral home.    

Other Things to Know About Your 
Prepaid Funeral Service Contract
Within 25 days of making a payment to the 
funeral home, you should be notifi ed by 
the escrow agent holding your money that 
it has received those funds.

• Every year, the escrow agent must 
send you a statement telling you 
how much is in your escrow account, 
including any interest or other income 
earned by the account.

• If the particular merchandise you pur-
chase in your Prepaid Funeral Service 
Contract is not available at the time 
of the funeral, the funeral home must 
provide you with merchandise similar 
in style and of at least equal quality 
to the merchandise purchased in the 
contract. 

• Under State law, no more than $5,400 
may be placed in an irrevocable Pre-
paid Funeral Service Contract.  There 
is no limit to the amount that may 
be placed in a revocable account, 
although special rules apply to Title 
XIX recipients.  Title XIX recipients are 
subject to Connecticut Department of 
Social Services and Medicaid laws; see 
www.ct.gov/dss.       

• Funeral homes are not required to offer 
“cash advance” items (fl owers, news-
paper announcements, clergy fees 
and similar items for which prices are 
purely speculative) as part of the Pre-
paid Funeral Service Contract.  If the 
funeral director allows you to make a 
payment towards these items, you are 
making a “cash advance” on these 
items.  A funeral home is not permitted 
to mark-up a cash advance item.  

• You may request in writing that your 
Prepaid Funeral Service Contract be 
transferred to another funeral home. 
The funeral director, however, may 
keep up to 5% of the value of the 
escrow account for administrative fees 
and expenses incurred at the time of 
transfer.

• For more information, you may visit the 
Department of Consumer Protection 
website at www.ct.gov/dcp or review 
the governing statutes, which are Con-
necticut General Statutes Section’s 
42-200 et seq.
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What is a Prepaid Funeral Service 
Contract?
• A “Prepaid Funeral Service Contract” 

(sometimes referred to as a “pre-need” 
funeral service contract), is a contract 
where you provide advanced funding 
(before there is a death) for funeral ser-
vices that will be provided at some point 
in the future.  

• Prepaid Funeral Service Contracts are 
regulated by the Department of Con-
sumer Protection (“Department”) under 
Connecticut General Statutes Section 
42-200, et seq. (commonly referred to as 
the “Pre-need Law”).

• Public Act 2012-36 allows for the funding  
of a funeral service contract by assigning 
the death benefi t under a life insurance 
policy regulated by the Connecticut In-
surance Department.  You should check 
the Connecticut Insurance Department 
website (http://www.ct.gov/cid) or call 
the agency at 1-800-203-3447 to confi rm 
that the insurer and, if applicable, the 
producer (agent), is properly licensed.   

 
• If you choose to prepay for your funeral 

service through a Prepaid Funeral Ser-
vice contract, and NOT fund it with the 
assignment of a life insurance policy, 
your payments must be held in an es-
crow account.  This means that it is being 
held by an authorized escrow agent (not 
the person who sold you the contract) 
and will be protected so that it is avail-
able when you need it.

• Only a licensed funeral director or em-
balmer can offer you a Prepaid Funeral 
Service Contract.  They, however, may not 
serve as the escrow agent.

• If you ask about purchasing a Prepaid 
Funeral Service Contract, the funeral di-
rector or embalmer must provide you with 
a copy of the price list for the goods and 
services you are considering and a sepa-
rate list for specifi c merchandise. 

• If you enter into a Prepaid Funeral Service 
Contract, you must be given, in writing:
o A signed copy of the contract.
o A receipt for any payments made to   
  the funeral director or embalmer.
o An itemized listing of the funeral goods  
  and services that you purchased.
o The name and address of the escrow   
  agent holding your money, unless the   
  contract is funded by a life insurance   
  policy, in which case you must receive  
  the name and address of the insurance  
  company issuing the individual or group  
  life insurance policy.

• Your escrow-funded Prepaid Funeral Ser-
vice Contract does not meet the require-
ments of the Pre-need Law if, for example:
o There is not an authorized third party   
 serving as the escrow agent .
o There is a surrender penalty fee of more  
 than 5% if you choose not to have the  
 funeral home provide your funeral ser-  
 vices.
o There is a cancellation fee beyond   
 reasonable costs actually incurred by   
 the funeral home in performing under   
 the contract.
o These do not apply when funding the   
 contract with an insurance policy.

What Must be Included in a Prepaid 
Funeral Service Contract?
• A list of the goods or services being sold.

• The amount being paid and the method 
of payment.

• How your money will be invested, if you 
chose to fund your Prepaid Funeral Ser-
vice Contract with an escrow account.
o The funds must be put in an escrow ac- 
  count within 15 days
o Within 10 days of receiving the funds,   
  the escrow agent must notify you that  
  it received your money.

• The name of the agent for the escrow 
account holding your money or the 
name and address of the insurance com-
pany issuing the individual or group life 
insurance policy.
o The escrow agent CANNOT be the         
     funeral director or embalmer.

• Whether the price for the products and 
services you are buying is guaranteed 
(i.e. it will not change).  If the price is not 
guaranteed (i.e. the price may increase 
at a later date), the contract must say so.

• Whether the contract is revocable (it can 
be cancelled) or irrevocable (it cannot 
be cancelled).

• Revocable contracts must explain how 
the contract can be cancelled and what 
the effects of cancellation are. 


